On 30 March 2025 Bangladesh joined the Hague Apostille Convention, and a genuine burden lifted off Bangladeshi students. One stamp from Bangladesh's Apostille Authority replaced the old crawl through the foreign ministry and then an embassy. Guides across Bangladesh have been repeating the good news ever since. For Egypt, the good news does not apply — because Egypt is not a party to that Convention at all.
That is not a technicality. It means every apostille you pay for on the way to Cairo is wasted paper, and it changes the document plan for anyone chasing the Egypt student visa from Bangladesh for the 2027-28 intake — whether the destination is Al-Azhar, a public medical faculty, or an English-medium private campus.
Bangladeshi students need a study visa for Egypt plus a residence permit after arrival. Most public-university applicants must apply through one government portal, not to the university. Crucially, Egypt is outside the Apostille Convention, so Bangladeshi documents need full consular legalisation — an apostille alone will be rejected.
Why is a Bangladeshi apostille useless for Egypt?
Because Egypt never joined the 1961 Hague Apostille Convention. We checked the Hague Conference's own status table for the Convention and searched the full list of roughly 130 parties: Egypt does not appear anywhere on it. Egypt has never signed, ratified or acceded. Bangladesh's own line on that same table reads accession 29 July 2024, entry into force 30 March 2025 — so Bangladesh is in, and Egypt is out, and an apostille only works when both countries are in.
So what replaces it? Egypt's Ministry of Foreign Affairs publishes its own document-authentication procedure, including a specific table for higher-education and university certificates and for certificates issued abroad. The chain it sets out is: legalisation by the foreign ministry of the issuing country, then legalisation either by the Egyptian embassy in that country or by that country's own embassy in Egypt.
Read onto a Bangladeshi case, that means your certificates go to Bangladesh's Ministry of Foreign Affairs first, and then to either the Egyptian mission serving Bangladesh or the Bangladesh Embassy in Cairo. Al-Azhar's own foreign-student pages confirm the same requirement from the other direction: for its non-religious colleges, a certificate must be acceptable to universities in the applicant's own country and certified by that country's embassy and the Egyptian Foreign Ministry.
If a consultancy tells you an apostille is all you need for Egypt, they are working from the 2025 headline and have not checked the Convention's party list. You will pay for a stamp, travel on it, and be turned back at the university's document desk. Ask for the legalisation route in writing before you pay any document fee.
Do you apply to the university, or to the Egyptian government?
To the government — and this surprises almost everyone. Egypt runs a single central portal for foreign students, operated by the Central Administration for Foreign Students Affairs at the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research. We could not render the portal itself, because it is a JavaScript application that returns an empty shell to a plain fetch, but two Egyptian public universities describe it in detail on their own official pages.
Assiut University's rules for accepting expatriates set out the mechanics: the student applies through the "Study in Egypt" platform, selects up to ten faculty preferences, pays service fees within fourteen days of initial nomination, and submits original documents to the university — in person, or through an authorised representative, guardian, or their embassy — by a set deadline. Ain Shams University publishes its own announcement confirming the same Central Administration and the same platform.

There is an important carve-out in Assiut's own text: private higher institutes, technical institutes, presidential-authentication cases and agency-scholarship students may submit directly rather than solely through the online platform. So the honest summary is that the general public-university undergraduate route is portal-based, while some special categories have a direct path.
Either way, notice what this does to the agent's pitch. If admission to a public Egyptian university runs through a government portal with the student's own preferences and a fourteen-day payment clock, then nobody in Bangladesh is "arranging your admission" in any meaningful sense. They can help you assemble and legalise documents. They cannot nominate you.
Is there an Egyptian Embassy in Bangladesh?
Aggregator sites say yes and print an address. We could not confirm it on a single Egyptian government source, and we are going to tell you that rather than copy the address across.
Egypt's foreign ministry website is, at the time of writing, partly broken: every English-language page we tried redirected to a dead subdomain, and the Arabic missions-abroad list loads its contents through a script, so no plain-text Dhaka entry could be read. That is not evidence the mission does not exist — it very likely does — but it means we will not publish a phone number or address for it.
This is the fifth time in our country research that a mission in Bangladesh appears confidently on commercial directories and nowhere on the sending country's own government pages. Treat any address you find on those directories as a lead to verify, not a fact.
The Bangladesh Embassy in Cairo is published on the Bangladesh government's own mission portal: House No. 03, Street No. 259, New Maadi, Cairo, with telephone +2-02-25162808 and email [email protected]. The page's own content date is 19 April 2022, so confirm by phone before relying on the details. This mission matters to you twice — for legalisation, and if anything goes wrong after you land.
How much is tuition in Egypt, and why is the currency a problem?
Assiut University publishes a real foreign-student fee table on its own site, and it is the most useful figure set we found for a public university. But it comes with a defect we have to hand to you straight: the page does not state the currency. Neither does the linked payment page, which gives an IBAN and SWIFT for a "Foreign Students' Support Fund" account without labelling the unit.
| Faculty group | Application | Per year | Currency |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medicine, Dentistry | 1,500 | 7,000 | Not stated |
| Engineering, Computing, Pharmacy, Physical Therapy | 1,500 | 6,000 | Not stated |
| Veterinary, Agriculture, Science, Nursing | 1,500 | 5,000 | Not stated |
| Other colleges and institutes | 1,500 | 3,500 | Not stated |
Do not assume dollars, and do not assume Egyptian pounds. The gap between those two readings is enormous, and third-party sites that confidently print "USD" beside these numbers are guessing. Assiut's page is dated 8 May 2024 and notes that first-time registration fees are collected by the Central Administration for Foreign Student Affairs. Write to the university and ask which currency before you plan anything.
For contrast at the private end, the American University in Cairo publishes clearly and in dollars: undergraduate tuition per credit hour of USD 700 for Egyptian students and USD 735 for international students, with international fees payable in US dollars, on a page last updated 29 July 2026. That is a different price tier entirely, and it shows that "cheap Egypt" and "English-medium Egypt" are not always the same institution.
Cairo University's international student services page carries no fee table at all, and we could not locate published foreign-student fee pages for Ain Shams or Alexandria. So for those universities we have no figure, and we are not inventing one.
What does Al-Azhar actually require from a Bangladeshi student?
Al-Azhar deserves its own section, because for Bangladeshi families it is often the whole reason Egypt is on the list. The route is not a simple application form.
Al-Azhar's own foreign-student portal states that foreign students can join its Arabic and religious-studies colleges if their secondary certificate is equivalent to the certificate awarded by Al-Azhar's Secondary Institutes for Muslim Envoys. That is an equivalence gate, judged against Al-Azhar's own school system, and it is where many applications actually stop. For the science and humanities colleges, the certificate must be acceptable to universities in the student's own country and certified by the embassy and the Egyptian Foreign Ministry — the same legalisation chain again.
There is also a language route written into the rules: a student under thirty with no Arabic and no study certificate must first complete up to two years at Al-Azhar's Institute of Arabic and then sit a placement test. Build those two years into your timeline and your budget, or the plan is not a plan.
On scholarships we have to stop short. We found no Al-Azhar or Egyptian government page naming a Bangladesh quota or a Bangladesh scholarship allocation. Several Al-Azhar pages were resetting connections during our checks, so the pages may exist and simply be unreachable — but we will not quote a number of seats or a stipend that no primary source shows.
What happens in your first week after landing?
Registration, quickly. Bangladesh is explicitly named on the list of nationalities that must register their passports within seven days of arrival to avoid fines — a Bangladesh-specific rule that almost no general guide mentions. The registration fee cited is EGP 110.
After that comes the residence permit itself, processed through the Immigration Office. The fee figures we found, described as based on official government receipts, are a residency visa at EGP 7,100, a re-entry visa at EGP 850, and a late-application fine of EGP 1,685. Governmental approvals run up to four years, with residency cards renewed annually.
Document checklist
- Passport valid well beyond the course length
- Secondary or degree certificates and transcripts, consular-legalised — apostille will not do
- Certificate equivalence evidence, if applying to Al-Azhar's religious colleges
- Nomination or acceptance document from the Study in Egypt platform or the institution
- Proof of funds for tuition and living costs
- Passport photographs to the mission's specification
- Medical documentation as required by the receiving faculty
- Budget line for passport registration within seven days of arrival
- Budget line for the residence permit and its annual renewal
Is the teaching in English or Arabic?
We cannot give you a confident answer, and that itself should shape your expectations. No Egyptian public university page we reached states what proportion of its programmes are English-taught. Cairo University's own faculty of medicine programmes page lists tracks without naming a language of instruction at all.
What we can say is structural. Egypt's public system has historically taught in Arabic; the American University in Cairo teaches in English by design but is a private institution at a private price. Assume Arabic unless a specific faculty tells you otherwise in writing, and check faculty by faculty rather than country-wide.
Can you work while studying in Egypt?
Unconfirmed. We looked for Egypt's labour ministry rules on work permits for foreigners and could not locate any clause on a government page addressing student work rights or an exemption category. Every result answering "can international students work in Egypt" was a law-firm blog or an immigration-services site.
Treat Egypt, for planning purposes, as a destination you fund from home. And if you are heading for medicine with an eye on practising in Bangladesh, remember the BMDC Eligibility Certificate must be in hand before you start an MBBS abroad — BMDC's own list asks for your Bangladesh MBBS/BDS Admission Test admit card and result sheet, and returning graduates must pass its Registration Qualifying Examination.
What we see at Eduvisa
Egypt enquiries reach us in two very different shapes. One is a student with a madrasa or Alia background and a clear Al-Azhar ambition, for whom the real question is certificate equivalence and whether two years of Arabic preparation fits the family's timeline. The other is a family who has heard Egypt is a cheap route to a medical degree, and for whom the first honest step is usually a conversation about language of instruction. The document work for Egypt is heavier than for most destinations precisely because of the apostille gap, and it is the part students most often underestimate.
Related guides: Turkey student visa from Bangladesh 2027 · Georgia student visa from Bangladesh 2027 · also from this week's research: the Philippines and Morocco, and now also Moldova. Worth bookmarking: the Apostille Convention status table and Egypt's own authentication procedure.
Going to Egypt? Get the document plan right first
Egypt is the one destination where the 2025 apostille good news does not help you, and where the wrong legalisation route costs weeks you may not have before an intake closes. Bring your certificates — including madrasa or Alia papers if that is your background — and let us map the actual chain with you, step by step.
Book Free Consultation →